Bienvenidos!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

16 days old. Home.

We were discharged on the 14th in time for SuperMoo's graduation, and MiniMoo behaved impeccably throughout.

Right. Things have improved since the last update. I still feel horrendously guilty for not feeding my little boy enough in those first 48 hours. I wasn't watching the clock and I left him for too long. But. When I noticed something wasn't right I got it sorted, and that's what I have to keep telling myself. And he's fine now. He's putting on weight and filling out and starting to look like a bubbly baby and less of a squishy newborn. He's still having one formula feed at night, which I keep hoping I can wean him off, but I haven't been able to just yet. I hate it when the midwives have to tick the 'partially' breastfeeding box in the postnatal checks though instead of 'exclusively'. It's at least 'mostly'.

Back at my parents for Christmas now, along with my two brothers and SuperMoo's brother and sister. They are staying in a hotel though but it's still a full house for most of the day. SuperMoo has abandoned me today to do some last minute shopping, but MiniMoo is sleeping contentedly in Uncle Bob's arms so I have a few minutes to update.

Gory details time? I keep going over it in my head, the actual delivery part. Trying not to forget bits, but I'm sure I already have... It all started in my sleep, actually. SuperMoo had got up to go to work and I was still asleep, and through my sleepiness felt a couple of things that felt like quite strong period pains, but not enough to quite wake me up, so I didn't think much of it at the time. SuperMoo left at just after eight so things must have started some time between seven and eight. I started getting ready and these pains were still there, but quite short and not very regular, so I was still not convinced at this stage. But then I was in the shower and they were getting to the point where I couldn't quite stay standing up straight with them so when I got out I sent mum a message to say that I'd been having some pains. I think I rang SuperMoo at about half ten. "Hi moo, I don't want to worry you, but..." "You're having contractions?" "Possibly..." But as they weren't too bad I told him to stay at work and I'd call him back at lunchtime if anything had developed. I carried on pottering round at home and at about 11 had a little bit of a show, so texted mum again to say that it probably was the real deal, then rang the womens just to let them know that things had started. Took some paracetamol and stayed upstairs. I was starting to have to use my 'techniques' by this point, leaning forward with one knee up on the bed, circling my hips and doing the Breathing. I decided to put a bit of a face on. Vain, I know. About half an hour after I'd rang the womens the first time I went to the loo again and there was quite a bit of blood, more than I expected, so I rang them again and they wanted my to go in to be assessed. SuperMoo rang me in the middle of a contraction and I think the conversation went "Hi Moo (pant pant pant)" "Do you want me to come home now?" "Yes please" So he left work at about half twelve.

MiniMoo stirring. back later.

4:40 p.m. - 2011-12-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

venezia

panama

random entry

other diaries:

joethebrave
annanotbob
annanotbob2
strawberrri
stepfordtart
smashthegas
theswordsman
lil-devil665
johnguinness
liljeffy
boo40
buffylass
onlyemma
lilkate