Bienvenidos!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The After Part

OK so I was going to do a photo entry but I just found out I haven't put any of my phone pics on the computer and hence not on photobucket either, and I really can't be bothered right now. Also, the browser just crashed when I had everything open, which was rather annoying.
So. The after part. MiniMoo had been passed up under my pyjama top all naked so we were both pretty mucky. The midwives were waiting for my placenta to detach but it was being a bit stubborn so they gave me the syntometrine jab to help it along. It was still being stubborn so they asked me to get up on the bed. I passed MiniMoo back to them to make it easier, and this also gave them the chance to weigh him and give him his vitamin K injection. With a bit of encouragement, my placenta did come away. They were a bit worried about some bleeding and wanted to see whether it was from a tear or from my placental bed. It slowed after the delivery but I did have a tear. Not on the perineum, thankfully, but along the labia. They said they'd ask one of the registrars to come and suture it as it seemed to go quite high up, and would I like something to eat in the meantime? I always wondered why women were offered tea after a delivery as I would have thought a nice glass of cold water would be the best thing after all that effort, but I tell you, I reeeeeeallly wanted a cup of sweet milky coffee and dang, it was the best cup of coffee I ever tasted! They passed MiniMoo back to me after I'd had some toast and I had some skin-to-skin time while I was waiting for the Reg. In hindsight, I should have tried feeding him at this point but I was worried that the reg would be ready just as I started, so I waited. They took me round to the suture room and SuperMoo held MiniMoo while they got me set up. I bloody hate those stirrups. I felt fine through the delivery because I was in control, but when they put me in the stirrups for the stitches I felt exposed, vulnerable and frightened. They told me to use the gas and air while the reg was exploring the tear but it didn't help, and all it did was make me dizzy. Man, it stung! The pain from the stitches was harder to deal with than the pain of delivery because I was completely in someone else's hands. It didn't help either that I really needed to pass gas and was worried my muscles wouldn't be up to the job of holding it in! Thankfully they were and nobody got farted at. Phew! So I got stitched up and they wheeled me back to my delivery room where I got to give MiniMoo his first feed. He latched on better than I expected, and the midwife was very happy with us.

At some point after that I went for a shower, and had mum come in the room with me cos I still felt a bit woozy. I washed a lot of blood away. My belly looked really strange, after being used to it being tightly stretched over my growing baby, it was now all soft and squidgy and baggy. Bizarre.

I was really keen to go home, and the midwives were happy to let me go, but we ended up waiting a couple of hours as they had a few admissions to deal with. We wiped some of the blood off MiniMoo's face and got him dressed, and oh my, he was so tiny in the clothes I'd brought for him! They absolutely swamped him! We waited a bit longer then eventually Sarah/Sally came to the room, went through all the discharge stuff and said we were free to go! It was half one in the morning. Again, in hindsight, maybe I should have stayed the night. But, I wanted to go home and they were happy to let me. I went in Mum's car and SuperMoo followed. I remember sitting there thinking, I feel so proud of myself for what I just did. I was so proud and happy for my sweet little boy! We had a sneaky maccy D's on the way home. I felt like I was setting such a bad example to MiniMoo! Not that he'll remember though...

And then, after that, I don't remember very much. I don't know if it was tiredness or what. I remember his first meconium poo, which seemed to go on forever! The other memories are muddled in with the photos I took. He didn't sleep that first night, but who could blame him really, his whole world had been turned upside down! I don't remember how many times I fed him, or what I did those first couple of days, until that horrible night where he hadn't wee'd and his lips were all dry and we ended up going to Alder Hey A&E at 4 o'clock in the morning. I was so tired when they asked my to bring him out to have his blood taken that I nearly tripped with him in my arms. That frightened the life out of me! I went from so happy to so miserable that first week. But. We got through it. I still worry about him but the guilt is much less now.

And now he's four and a half months, and thriving! And I will get round to doing a good photo entry and talking all about him but that will have to wait for another night. I need a shower then I'm going to bed.
Night all!

9:42 p.m. - 2012-04-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

venezia

panama

random entry

other diaries:

joethebrave
annanotbob
annanotbob2
strawberrri
stepfordtart
smashthegas
theswordsman
lil-devil665
johnguinness
liljeffy
boo40
buffylass
onlyemma
lilkate