Bienvenidos!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Food, and sleep, and cake and stuff.

So, lunch got slightly better last week. Managed to get it ready and him in the chair without too much protestation, and even managed to get him fed without him grabbing at the spoon every time it went near his mouth! Still having baby rice for breakfast - I bought two boxes so I'm blooming well going to use them! I'm trying to vary it by adding different fruit purees though. That reminds me, I need to cook up those apricots I bought ages ago... We were supposed to start doing dinners from today. I feel disproportionately nervous about it. I feel far too disorganised to ever be able to get three nutritious meals into my baby every day. It's not like I can just make him some peanut butter on toast in a pinch! Today we tried broccoli and pasta. I was a bit dubious because when I spoke to the health visitor at the baby clinic on wednesday she assured me he could start eating "everything - give him bits of pasta as a finger food, bread or toast, fruit and vegetable sticks, grated cheese.. Whatever you fancy!" I thought it was a bit fast after being on purees but didn't know if it was just me being too silly and cautious. So I cooked up some pasta and broccoli and smushed it with spoon, but there were still some fairly big lumps there. He took a bit of broccoli and pulled an extremely unimpressed face but still managed to gum and swallow it, so I gave him a bit of the pasta and he pulled the same face, then gagged on it. I thought he was going to choke, it really scared me. So I thought screw what the HV said. I pureed the rest of it but I don't think he was that keen on the taste - he's only had sweet root vegetables, squash and sweet potato so far so I'm not surprised. I abandoned dinner after that. Tomorrow I'll try mixing a bit of broccoli in with his parsnip, apple and carrot mash that I made today.

Bedtimes are going better. I had to suck it up and let him cry, but it went much better than last time and he only cried for about 15 minutes the first night, with me going in every three mins or so to stroke him and give him a kiss and tell him shhh, sleepy time. The next night it was maybe six or seven minutes, then the night after he went down in his cot awake and fell asleep by himself! And he's been pretty good since then. He's not sleeping for very long at the moment though, which is hard work. He's waking around 11:30, some time between 00:40 and 02:00, and again at 05:00. If he could just drop the early hours waking, that would be so much better!

I've finally gotten around to starting the blackout blinds. I'm making individual panels for each window pane because if I lined the curtains they'd be too heavy for the crummy poles in our room, and also when MiniMoo moves into his own room the curtains are tab top, s all the light would come round the sides anyway. They attach to the windows with suction cups, and it's working really well! Now I've got my mini sewing machine (wheeeee! I love it!) the hems are taking no time at all, it's just sewing the button holes that is the slow part...

Made carrot cake the other day: it's the first time I've made that and it turned out fab. I've been testing all my new recipes on my mums' group - they don't seem to complain!

Anyway, I should try and get some sleep before he wakes up again.

10:11 p.m. - 2012-06-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

venezia

panama

random entry

other diaries:

joethebrave
annanotbob
annanotbob2
strawberrri
stepfordtart
smashthegas
theswordsman
lil-devil665
johnguinness
liljeffy
boo40
buffylass
onlyemma
lilkate