Bienvenidos!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pearly whites

SuperMoo is baking cake. Now, he's actually quite good at baking bread, and he's very good at cooking dinner, but his baking annoys me disproportionately, because he will not follow the instructions! And this makes me feel like a horrible mean person when I get so irritated when he's just enjoying himself trying to make something tasty! I just feel like baking is more of a science because it relies on strict proportions of fat, protein and flour, certain chemical and physical properties and a particular way of combining them. So when he melts the butter in the microwave and stirs it into the sugar when the recipe says 'cream together' it makes me want to scream! Or 'beat eggs in gradually' nope - dump them all in in one go. Sigh. It makes me feel like all the care and attention to detail I pay when I bake is unnecessary because I'm sure his cake will turn out fine and I'll come out looking like the naggy nitpicky one. Anyway. Just wanted to get that off my chest.

So yes, MiniMoo has his first teeth! Which we have started brushing, although he likes to suck and chew the toothbrush. I'm sure I'm getting some brushing done. It also means we've tweaked his bedtime routine. For the past five nights he hasn't fed to sleep! He went to sleep by himself fine the first two nights, cried a bit the third, screamed for an hour the fourth, and tonight has gone off by himself again. No consistency, that child. I took him to be weighed this week, and he's put on more than a kilo in one month! He's jumped up a few lines on the centile chart - gone from the 9th, where he's been since birth, to between the 25th and 50th. It's all SuperMoo's home cooking, I'm sure!

Still waiting to hear about my part time application. We also need to look at alternative childcare as we might not get the nursery place we were banking on. Everything is going to be so last minute and that worries me slightly. I had Southport trying to get in touch with me because they thought I was coming back this week! Which left me panicking, did I ever say July on any of my early applications? I honestly can't remember! I only know since I was in touch with the Programme Director back in December I've said August. So August it is. Bleurgh.

Right. Quarter past ten now, and cake is out the oven. We shall see how it turned out.

9:06 p.m. - 2012-07-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

venezia

panama

random entry

other diaries:

joethebrave
annanotbob
annanotbob2
strawberrri
stepfordtart
smashthegas
theswordsman
lil-devil665
johnguinness
liljeffy
boo40
buffylass
onlyemma
lilkate