Bienvenidos!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

There has been a lot in the media lately about gender issues, sexuality, equality, that sort of stuff, and it's been getting me thinking. I suppose for me it started with Jack Monroe, then it was everywhere. Non-binary. Gender fluid. Have I reached the age where it's all a bit over my head? Someone I know on Facebook recently 'realised' they were non binary, and my first thought was WTF? Just because you like to dress a bit tomboy now and then, does it move you along the gender spectrum? Then my second thought was why am I questioning this? Isn't it their right to be who they want to be? Which I suppose brings me onto me. I've known since I was a teenager that I'm bisexual. I don't broadcast it because it's largely irrelevant (but hello Internet, I've said it now) and part of me feels a bit like a fake bi since I married a man.. but it doesn't mean I don't still find other women attractive, especially the dykey ones. I am not part of any 'community' sp I don't even know how people are referring to themselves these days.. Anyway. I have always been more comfortable in jeans and a t shirt. Wearing dresses yes, sometimes makes me feel good but more often like I'm wearing a costume. I cut my hair off not long after I got married. My husband doesn't mind. This year I've finally started feeling more comfortable dressing the way I want, which is really rather butch. I got a tattoo. It feels like armour. But at no point have I started to think or wonder, ok, does this make me any less female? No. I'm definitely female. But a female who sometimes fancies girls and likes to dress like a boy. Am I now the weird one? And when it all comes down to it, does it matter?

11:39 p.m. - 2017-02-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

venezia

panama

random entry

other diaries:

joethebrave
annanotbob
annanotbob2
strawberrri
stepfordtart
smashthegas
theswordsman
lil-devil665
johnguinness
liljeffy
boo40
buffylass
onlyemma
lilkate