Bienvenidos!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

12/6/20

Couple of weird moments over the past week.
I have unexpectedly found myself confronted with the photographs of two people whose death certificates I signed during my redeployment.

One appeared on the BBC memorial - the one that shows you random photos and a one-line tribute to the person who died. I remembered her particularly because her case was not typical and she stuck in my mind. Her story was heartbreaking and sobering as I could identify with her for a couple of reasons. I was not the person who identified her after death so I did not know what she looked like until blink - there she was, happy, vibrant and alive, smiling into the camera. Now all that is left is a memory and a handful of ash.

The second caught my eye as I flicked through our local free newspaper. I did not register at first but a couple of details started clanging in my head and I went back and fished the paper out of the recycling box and read the whole article. This one had caused me a bit of a headache trying to piece together the narrative of his final days. He had not succumbed to Covid, it was completely unrelated, but he still died alone thanks to the visiting restrictions. I had been teasing apart the letters in his notes, trying to work out his job, if the people mentioned were relatives or friends - turned out two of the names were of his dogs - and figuring out what exactly had led him down his final path. And again, there was his face, looking up from the page, and the tribute from his colleagues, giving me a little more insight into this man I met only in the imprint he left behind.

I used to worry, when I lived in the city centre before I had children, that I would bump into some of the frequent flyers on the liver ward when I was walking through town. I never thought while scribbling away in the mortuary that I would be bumping into memories a few weeks later.

10:07 p.m. - 2020-06-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry

other diaries:

smashthegas
theswordsman
lil-devil665
johnguinness
liljeffy
buffylass
boo40
lilkate
onlyemma
joethebrave
stepfordtart
strawberrri
annanotbob
annanotbob2
dangerspouse