Bienvenidos!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

17/6/20

I have managed to get on Songline twice this week.
Today was a nice folksy round:
"The sun will rise again tomorrow
The stars will shine
The air will be clear and the earth renewed
We'll sing in the sun once more"

Monday was a mantra the world could use:
"Open my eyes to truth
Open my hands to give freely
Open my lips to good words, to pure words
Open my heart to love"

It felt good to sing again. I haven't done much singing the past month, apart from the defiant belting a couple of weeks ago. I missed the uplifting short harmonies that the songline leaders teach. I miss singing in a group. Sometimes E will sing with me. He has an incredibly good ear for melody and harmony and I would love to nurture that.

I went for a good long walk with one of my friends from my pre-lockdown singing group on Sunday: along the beach, round the marine lakes and back past the posh seafront mansions, just talking. Proper soul- baring conversation. She lost her dad recently, not to covid, and she lived with him too, so different circumstances, and just as painful. She asked a lot of questions as to why my default response to so many things was guilt, and suggested I look at trying meditation as a way to try and re-wire some of that. I have never tried meditation before. Always thought I was too busy and too fidgety to be able to do it, but I'm willing to drop my prejudices and have a go. The walk was so satisfying... just to get out of the house and spend some time with a real friend, in person, even if I couldn't hug her when we said goodbye! I can't wait till we are allowed to hug again. When we can finally go and visit my parents they had better be ready because I will not be letting go...

9:29 p.m. - 2020-06-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry

other diaries:

smashthegas
theswordsman
lil-devil665
johnguinness
liljeffy
buffylass
boo40
lilkate
onlyemma
joethebrave
stepfordtart
strawberrri
annanotbob
annanotbob2
dangerspouse