Bienvenidos!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Twit

I went and joined Twitter last week. I have no great desire to be on there, if I'm honest, but I wanted to tweet a thank you to an author whose book helped me with something.. so I tweeted it and then realised it landed right in the middle of this virtual book tour for another, much more popular series and also smack bang in the middle of that ridiculous US debate debacle.. so no chance of them seeing it.. and so I'm sitting there thinking, what now, do I just leave it at two tweets? Do I go chasing likes, over-sharing about the mundanities of my life? Who the hell is going to read it, or care? But then I start finding people to follow and these little windows start opening up into the galleries of their lives and I feel the dopamine start spiking and I realise how people get sucked in.. so although I really don't trust it, I'm staying on there just a little bit longer.

At dance class today Adam started something new.. asked if I wanted to try some 'classic, old-school pop n lock', and like a fool I said yeah, alright, I'll give it a try..
Whaaaaaaaa?? My body has no idea what it's doing! Still fun though. And I managed not to pull anything this week! Win.

I'm trying to find my way back to creativity. I used to have such an imagination when i was a kid, but I feel like studying medicine just drained all that out of me. I am in awe of fiction writers, song writers, poets.. people who can put these words together, pull stories out of the air that other people then enjoy consuming..
I've been working on this quasi fan fiction (although it's not really fanfic in that it takes the characters out of canon and puts them somewhere else, it's just missing bits that I'm filling in for my own benefit) and I'm trying not to judge myself too hard for it. It's like, if this is only for me, it doesn't need to be perfect, and if it can get me back into that state of mind of being able to just make something up (just make it up!) and commit it to type, then maybe I can use that as a first step towards coming up with something original. Even if nobody reads it but me.

And looky here, I got all the way to the end without mentioning *cough*Donald *cough*.
In the timeless words of Nelson Muntz,
Ha, ha.

9:14 p.m. - 2020-10-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry

other diaries:

deadish
dangerspouse
annanotbob2
annanotbob
strawberrri
smashthegas
stepfordtart
theswordsman
lil-devil665
johnguinness
buffylass
liljeffy
lilkate
boo40
onlyemma
joethebrave