Bienvenidos!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

My eldest child will not go to sleep. It seems no matter how much he runs around, how early or late he goes to bed, how tired I think he must be, he just will not sleep. It's exhausting. He is so needy at bedtime. It doesn't matter if I stay outside their room or go downstairs: my evening is his until he finally drops off.
So trying to think of when I could squeeze in 10 minutes to myself has been impossible. I can't do it when I wake up because my youngest is usually headbutting me for a wee then. Not after breakfast, not after brushing my teeth, not at any point during the daytime, and not in the evening. So I just don't know.

We have been to the beach a lot this week. Mainly after 4pm, when the sun has not been quite so hot. The past two days as the tide has receded there has been this 'river' cutting through the sand down to the waves - maybe 4 inches deep at the most - that they really enjoyed exploring and excavating. M built a canal. Yesterday we saw shrimp and a tiny little flat fish. Today it was two crabs scuttling along. I don't actually know where the water comes from - it just seems to pour out of the sand.
There were a lot of sunburned backs on show today. The boys were wearing their new sun tops as well as sunscreen and hats. I had enough Cornwall holidays ruined by sunburn and do not wish that for my boys.
Our beach is wide and long. There were masses congregated by the entrances at the leisure centre and marine lakes on either side, but as we could cut straight over the dunes from the end of our road we avoided the crowds. And playing in the 'river' meant we didn't need to go down to the sea itself apart from a bit of a splash before the tide went out.

I had a point I wanted to make earlier. But it's now 23:52 and I'm tired.
Goodnight.

10:00 p.m. - 2020-06-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry

other diaries:

smashthegas
theswordsman
lil-devil665
johnguinness
liljeffy
buffylass
boo40
lilkate
onlyemma
joethebrave
stepfordtart
strawberrri
annanotbob
annanotbob2
dangerspouse