Bienvenidos!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Early! part II

I like being up early (see previous entry). I just don't usually like the getting up part: making that decision to leave the cosy snugness of bed and dreams and replace it with bleary-eyedness and daylight. Today was different. I was having a very boring dream (I was dreaming I was a GP being asked for the Pill by a fifteen-year-old girl, and I was giving her advice on Gillick competence and the legality of her actions. Yawn...) and the moment my alarm went off I was wide awake. Then I had the whole day ahead of me. I didn't tie my hair back or wear my uni jumper, and I was in Nottingham by 8:30am. I even bumped into a schoolfriend whom I haven't seen in years, which was lovely. I bought precisely what I went into town for and nothing more, and was back home by 12:30pm.

I like having good days.

Mario and I went to Mike's on Sunday for a barbecue and Tim was asking what I'm going to buy with my first paycheque. Technically it's not my first as I had part time jobs over the summer, but it will be my first career paycheque, so I've been thinking hard about what I should get. I know it can't be anything too extravagant because realistically, most of that first cheque will be repaying my overdraft. But I'll still have a couple of hundred quid of my own, that I earned, that can be spent entirely on me if I wish, and that's a big thing. I'm not good at buying myself gifts. I was given a savings account on my 18th birthday with �500 in it, and after using �150 as spending money on a trip to the states after my first year of Uni (most of which went on petrol, entry prices and food), I haven't used the money to buy myself anything. . I used some to help Mario buy his plane ticket home in 2006, but he's paying me back for that. I opened another savings account with bits of Easter/Christmas/birthday/Graduation money and I haven't spent any of that either. I can buy things if there is a need for them (like shoes to go with an outfit, or, occasionally, an outfit to go with a pair of shoes...) but trying to think of something for myself just because I can afford to buy myself a present is giving me trouble.

An Innocent smoothie is definitely on my payday wishlist. They're far too expensive for student budgets.

�Que mas?

3:55 p.m. - 2008-07-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

venezia

panama

random entry

other diaries:

joethebrave
annanotbob
annanotbob2
strawberrri
stepfordtart
smashthegas
theswordsman
lil-devil665
johnguinness
liljeffy
boo40
buffylass
onlyemma
lilkate