Bienvenidos!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Slimy yet satisfying

The on call was ok. I did end up going to see a last-minute case which made me miss my usual train though, which meant I had to wait half an hour for the next one.

This week has been slimy yet satisfying. I've had no SHO so got thrown in at the deep end having to see all these patients who I don't know by myself, doing all the jobs myself, but I think I handled it with aplomb. Had two sick patients who I had to sort out. One got better pretty quickly. The other one was the consultant's fault. He said she could drink but she aspirated and got a chest infection. Tsk.

Strangely, the niggly saliva duct has swollen up. Have you ever heard of anything like that?! There's a condition called sialoadenitis but that refers to the saliva gland itself and is usually if you get a stone in the duct: it's like gallstones in your mouth, kind of. Or people who have dry mouth conditions can get infections because the saliva doesn't flush the bugs out. But just the duct?! It's weird. I keep waking up feeling like I've got a little wodge of chewing gum under my tongue. (Apparently it's called sialoangitis. Emedicine had no articles, bah...)

Anyway. Home again for the weekend for the annual food n fireworks for my birthday. I think I'm starting to get to that stage when I want to forget I keep getting older. My mum was married with two kids by the time she was the age I am now...

12:44 p.m. - 2008-11-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

venezia

panama

random entry

other diaries:

joethebrave
annanotbob
annanotbob2
strawberrri
stepfordtart
smashthegas
theswordsman
lil-devil665
johnguinness
liljeffy
boo40
buffylass
onlyemma
lilkate