Bienvenidos!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wedding part 1

Had Iceland not decided to wreak havoc with the skies, we would be in Rome on our mini-moon right now. Instead, we started married life with a flat full of Panamanians and I went to watch a Liverpool match with my husband (teehee!), my brother-in-law and his girlfriend. We saw them off at the coach station today for their first leg of the overland trip to Madrid where with luck they should be able to fly home. M was completely frazzled while they were here but as soon as we got back to the flat he looked all sad because it was too quiet and he missed them. (bless!) It did mean we got around to opening some presents today. Lots of lovely cards are now adorning our coffee table.

The big day itself was great! I finished work on the thursday morning, went home, sorted out the Sopa Borracha and went to bed. Got up about three hours later feeling very rough and went to meet up with mum and M's family. We took them to a proper pub for Scouse and Fish'n'Chips! Em and Kate arrived late in the evening while I was in bed trying to catch up on sleep. Didn't really work - I woke up in the wee hours of the morning and couldn't get back to sleep again.

Friday morning we spent rushing round town looking for strapless bras for under their bridesmaid dresses (as they have never had themselves measured and Em was still wearing one I gave her when we were 16!), a bikini and some undies for me, Euros, cash and last-minute gifts. We checked into the hotel in the afternoon, I had a manicure, then we had to go back to the flat so that I could pack and get the music for the ceremony before the rehearsal at 5pm. Played Em and Kate the version of the bridal march I would be using and we all had a cry. While we were there M called to say the priest was stuck on the M1 and the rehearsal would need to be pushed back. We were lucky really - he had been in Nice but had managed to get across the channel and drive up. I left E and K trying to burn a CD while I went back to the bank before it closed to get cash to pay the suppliers, and got back to find they hadn't been able to figure it out. Had a mini-panic, then threw some stuff in a suitcase, grabbed a taxi to the hotel, dropped our cases off and jumped back into the cab to go to what was supposed to be the post-rehearsal dinner. My brother was about half an hour late and nearly lost his starter. We went up to the church for 9pm, realised when we got there that we had forgotten the order of service to show the priest, the readings, and that we still hadn't written the bidding prayers. I cried again during the practice run of the vows but apart from that it was fine. Went back to the hotel, de-fuzzed my legs and ended up coming out in a hot bumpy rash. Attractive. I think I went to bed about 1am after several phone calls to M as he was sorting out the CD and the prayers. Didn't sleep again.

In the morning Em got up early and went with Mum to find some shoes after deciding at the last minute hers didn't fit properly. Kate and I went down to breakfast a bit later and afterward found out that I had been upgraded to the River Suite! Faboo! We had a look in the reception room on the way and back upstairs it was starting to come together. The River Suite was amazing! Bedroom, en suite, second loo, kitchenette, dining room and lounge! THREE TVs! The hair and makeup teams arrived at 11 to work their magic. The hair was done pretty quickly but my face wasn't finished until about half two. Mum had disappeared so the photographer's wife helped me into my skirt and then Harriet laced me into the corset. Mum rushed off just after 3pm with the girls leaving me with my nerves and my Daddy. The car was a little late but we got to the church with about 5 minutes to spare. I was shaking like a leaf.

Bah, this makes for boring reading... I'll finish it later.

Have another picture!
Photobucket

11:40 p.m. - 2010-04-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

venezia

panama

random entry

other diaries:

joethebrave
annanotbob
annanotbob2
strawberrri
stepfordtart
smashthegas
theswordsman
lil-devil665
johnguinness
liljeffy
boo40
buffylass
onlyemma
lilkate