Bienvenidos!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

You are the Starlight

Just got home after spending the most fantastic weekend back in Liverpool. Well, just got back from Narnie and Grandpa's I mean. I'm staying there for a few days because I don't like being home alone in the evenings, and it's nice to spend a bit of time with them again - I haven't stayed over since I was about 12. But yeah, went back to Liverpool this weekend, mainly to see Mario, but also to go fencing again and check the post at the house, and make sure everything was ok. I did leave my shoes there. Grrr.

I arrived at half six on Friday evening, after having spent the whole morning at work being so ridiculously jittery, forcing myself not to look at my watch every five minutes. It was the same on the train - the journey seemed to take forever, especially the last bit between Widnes and Lime Street (why does it always feel faster leaving somewhere than arriving?), where I was re-touching my make up and worrying that I'd overdone the lipstick a bit and being annoyed that my hair had gone flat.. I wanted everything to be perfect for when I arrived, but I needn't have worried. It was worth it when I got onto the platform and Mario was there and I gave him a huge hug and we kissed and just having him there for real instead of over the phone was wonderful. We got a taxi back to his house so I could drop off my bags, and he went into his room first whilst I used the bathroom, and when I came out he was stood there with a rose in his hand and the whole floor smelt of lilies.. I love the smell of lilies. He'd bought a bunch and his room was full of their gorgeous perfume.

Just after seven we left to go to the Empire Theatre to see Starlight Express, the tickets for which Mario had bought a couple of days before. Our seats were right at the back, but as the balcony was fairly empty we moved down to some nearer the front. It started off kind of weird, and to be honest I thought it sounded like they were making the songs up as they went along half the time, but it got better. They did this 3D thing which was quite kewl, with everyone looking supersexy in their 3D specs :P, and the big duet was damn good. Mario told me we had to leave as soon as it had finished for 'the next part of the surprise' so off we went and jumped in a taxi. I waited for Mario to tell the driver his usual - Melville Grove, on Grove Street - but instead he said 'do you know the restaurant Sapporo Teppanyaki?' Surprise? Indeed! That place is flipping expensive! But he said as he'd had a paycheque he wasn't expecting, he'd like to treat me. It was fantastic - we were given this beeper thing that let us know when our table was ready, so we went and had a glass of wine at the bar. The table, when we got to it, was around a big grill in the centre where the chef cooked the food right in front of you. I ordered sushi and duck rolls, and mario had miso soup and a duck dish from the teppan menu. All of my order came at once so I tried to eat it slowly so Mario wasn't sat waiting for me when his soup was gone. I love sushi. The portions were kind of small though for the money they charged. The chefs were doing all this juggling with the eggs, spinning them on the grill and tossing them into their hats. Ours managed to smash one on the grill but never mind. He also poured a load of spirit onto the surface and it flamed up - the table was shielded by an air current though so it wasn't too hot sat where we were. I did manage to singe my rose on the glass though :-/ we shared another bottle of wine and I was so worried that I was going to slip whn I went to the ladies - the floor was quite greasy and I was getting a little tipsy, but I managed it alright. With the duck, the chef also prepared sauteed potatoes, stir fried veg and rice, so you got quite a lot of food from the grill menu. I tried some of the duck - it was in a raspberry sauce - a little odd, but very nice. It must have been almost midnight by the time we left.

update:

I have no idea what time we went to sleep. Woke up at some point on saturday morning with that old wine taste in my mouth (mmm yummy) but meh. At least I didnt have a hangover. Was slightly late for fencing, but it was ok as we had the hall until 3 instead of the usual 2pm. There was only Roobs, Andrea (m), Mario and myself there. I did ok against Andrea, kicked Rooban about a bit, and lost as usual to Mario, although my average against him is slowly going up. After fencing (and showering) we headed off into town to get the train to Mike's, where we were going to check out the Cheshire Oakes cinema. Twas very posh. Had a coffee ice cream, but the film (Dark Water) was a bit crap. I wouldn't mind seeing Charlie and the Chocolate Factory... Maybe I can talk Mario into going with me this weekend... Also looking forward to the new Harry Potter film - hopefully it will manage to live up to the last one - that was soooooo good! But I have to wait til November for the next installment :(

We went to Mike's after the film. as I hadn't seen the new house yet. It's really nice, much better than the old one. I see much potential for future parties there... Didn't get back to Liverpool til almost half eleven, then spent ages waiting for an 86 bus. Frequent service?! Puh, whatever... Realised as we were stood there that I had no milk in the fridge, in fact nothing readily edible at all - we hadn't eaten (real food. Not counting ice creams.) since about 4pm. In the end neither of us could be bothered to make anything when we finally got back to my house, so we just went to bed.

Slept in late on Sunday, watched a bit of the Tailor of Panama, with Mario pointing out all the discontinuities that no-one who didn't live there would have noticed, before going to ASDA at around midday to get stuff for brunch. We made so much food... French toast, pancakes with syrup, turkey bacon, 'wholemeal' scrambled eggs with cheese (cooked in everything else's juices so it went kind of a brownish colour. Still tasted damn good though!), strong coffee and orange juice with bits in. We couldn't face the croissants. We finished watching the film then just lazed around til I had to get the train. We got to the station about five minutes before the train was due to leave, so it was a very short goodbye before I ran off to find my seat. Ended up sat next to this couple with such a broad Notts accent :P, while I wondered why leaving Liverpool seemed to take so much less time than arriving.

Have been staying at Narnie and Grandpa's since, which is nice, as I have some company in the evenings. I keep wondering whether I'm turning into one of them though - I'm always sleepy in the evenings and sit there reading the Times, doing the su doku (managed to finish the 'difficult' one yesterday - go me!) or watching whatever they have on TV. Am only there one more night, then Mario arrives tomorrow evening. I can't wait!

Laters xx

10:20 a.m. - 2005-08-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

venezia

panama

random entry

other diaries:

joethebrave
annanotbob
annanotbob2
strawberrri
stepfordtart
smashthegas
theswordsman
lil-devil665
johnguinness
liljeffy
boo40
buffylass
onlyemma
lilkate