Bienvenidos!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Got connected

Woohoo!

I'm online!

I'm wireless!

Hip hip hurray!

We finally managed to set up the internet after the BT man came to repair the phone line this morning, and it feels fab to be connected again: I was starting to miss it. But you know what? Not one important email. Humph.

Started on my induction program on Thurs after getting back from Nottingham Weds afternoon. I had such a good time at home. The Schnegelsbergs are still there and I was so sad to have to leave everyone, plus a little bit jealous of the fun they're having without me :-( Got half a film of pics back but I'm waiting for Bob to email me the ones from Dad's digital camera.

I was thinking whilst at Piccolo (ex Leonardo's) last week of how difficult I would find it to be a food critic. This guy AA Gill usually does a restaurant review each week (invariably somewhere in London) in the Sunday Times Style mag, most of which is him effusing about something completely unrelated before devoting one or two paragraphs to the actual food. Since I've been reading his column the other food bods (such as those in the Metro) just bug me. They write so blandly. Anyway. I was thinking about how I would review Piccolo's food. I would say something about the generic Italian menu, the safe favourites, nothing too ambitious. I would mention my trip to Italy where I tried proscuttio e melone for the first time. I would make a remark about the waitress who had no idea how to pronounce the Italian dish names, let alone know of what they comprised. I would describe my reservations when my 'e melone' turned out to be 'e ensalata de frutti' (two slices each of melon, orange and kiwi) and my subsequent disappointment on tasting and discovering that the flavour of the orange completely overpowered the delicate taste of the melon and completely changed the character of the dish. Then I'd probably get a bit bored, become tired of delving into my shrinking vocabulary and go and do something else.

5:13 p.m. - 2008-08-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

venezia

panama

random entry

other diaries:

joethebrave
annanotbob
annanotbob2
strawberrri
stepfordtart
smashthegas
theswordsman
lil-devil665
johnguinness
liljeffy
boo40
buffylass
onlyemma
lilkate