Bienvenidos!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Back in black

Firstly, a quick thank you to those who shared their thoughts on the cremation cheque. I put it in my savings account and will think of something cheerful to spend it on.

Secondly, I WAS PAID TODAY!! WOOHOOO!!! This is a very big day for me: my first proper career paycheque. All earned, all mine. I am now financially independent. I am finding it difficult coming to terms with this.

At first, when I opened my online banking thing and saw that it had gone through, I was very excited, jumped up and down a bit, ate some choclolate and called my mum. I looked at a couple of bits on amazon. But then I started thinking. Even though I'm a proper grown-up I still don't feel like it. I still feel like my parents' kid. So it feels bizarre to suddenly have this cash in my account. Furthermore, having been a student for the past five years I got used to having a lump of money hit my account every four months, with nothing in between, so knowing that this will be a monthly occurrence honestly feels alien to me. I was all set to go and buy a few things from my wish list but at the last minute I came over all shy as the ingrained 'this is all you'll have for the next four months' response kicked in. I know that the money is mine to use as I please, so why am I suddenly so reluctant?

10:27 p.m. - 2008-08-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

venezia

panama

random entry

other diaries:

joethebrave
annanotbob
annanotbob2
strawberrri
stepfordtart
smashthegas
theswordsman
lil-devil665
johnguinness
liljeffy
boo40
buffylass
onlyemma
lilkate