Bienvenidos!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Afraid

So, I hadn't actually heard anything about these proposed changes to trainee doctors' contracts until yesterday, but now I have read through the summary on the BMA website and shit, I'm quite worried.. I don't normally get too involved in the politics of what I do, because (honestly?) I'm lazy, and I arrogantly assumed that my career and salary were fairly protected. Not any more, it seems, and I'm genuinely wondering what the hell I'm doing buying a house and getting a mortgage when next year I could be looking at a 30% pay cut. And two kids needing childcare fees paying. On a part-time salary to begin with. I never joined the BMA when I graduated as there didn't seem to be much need: I was perfectly happy with my pay and working conditions so I didn't really fancy paying the annual fee for not a lot in return. Now I'm thinking I should pull my finger out and sign up so that I actually have the right to get angry and shout about it with everyone else. And I know, I could go back full time.. I may well have to, and just suck up the mother's guilt that will be gnawing at me for leaving my youngest son to be brought up by childcare providers instead of his mummy, and my oldest (who will still be only 5) in before- and after-school clubs five days a week because mummy will be too busy working to drop him off and pick him up at least some days a week.. And I don't even know if that will be financially viable, because full-time childcare is bloody expensive and I don't know if my reduced salary will cover it.. Supermoo says I should just wait and see what happens next August but I don't want to just twiddle my thumbs and wait for the shit to hit the fan.. I can't, I'm worried that we'll end up having to sell the lovely house we are just about to exchange contracts on and brutally downsize just to be able to afford to live.

What are you doing, Jeremy? You're going to alienate then obliterate the whole nhs workforce in one fell swoop :-(

3:11 a.m. - 2015-09-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

venezia

panama

random entry

other diaries:

joethebrave
annanotbob
annanotbob2
strawberrri
stepfordtart
smashthegas
theswordsman
lil-devil665
johnguinness
liljeffy
boo40
buffylass
onlyemma
lilkate