Bienvenidos!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Steeeeeeeeeve

Today's lecture was a bit pointless and far too boring, but at least I only spent �1.30 getting there this time.

Went to meet Steve before getting the train, and we went for lunch at the Tea House. For some reason I've spent the rest of the afternoon feeling slightly queasy, but I don't think that was the food's fault. We had a good natter about stuff in general, then he gave a me a rib-crushing hug at the station before I scooted off to Fazakerly. When I got back, intending to just head straight back up to campus and hide in the library, who did I meet just outside the station? Our very own Steve! Apparently the ither girl he was supposed to meet today never showed up, so we went and had a coke in the Fly, and now I smell all icky and smoky :-(

Training yesterday went ok. During the free session my mind wasn't on the game at all, so I kept making stupid mistakes and losing hits I never would normally, so I walked out and sat in the old reception for a bit. I didn't think it was fair to subject everyone else to my foul mood, and I was fencing like a lemon as well. The coaching session went miles better. I think the whole not having to concentrate throughout the warmup and footwork parts helped focus me again, so that when I had my lesson and subsequent one-hit epee pool, I was feeling back to normal and went on to win my group, which was pretty satisfying. Henry and I tied on four wins each, so we fenced off for the title and I got him on a lovely wrist hit. After that we had a bit of a steam knockabout, but without a president or a box to work out the timings, we weren't quite sure who got the hits half the time. I ended up getting one hit to the shin, just where my breeches ended and where my sock wasn't... Ouch! I've got a nice concentric pattern of red and pink rings there now and I think I might have bruised the muscle, as it kind of hurts to properly dorsiflex my foot.

I need to phone the landlord soon to sort out handing the contract back and paying the deposits. Also need to sort my travel insurance and get booked in for my jabs. Apparently they're putting the prices up at the travel clinic so I should get in before April 1st to avoid the rise. Preferably not too close to that date either as I don't want a heavy arm for the Glasgow. It was bad enough last year that I was just getting over mumps then; I don't want a vaccination weighing me down this time...

Need to go soon as we need to go to ASDA. I finished off the cereal this morning and we have no bread. Or butter. And we need to get something for dinner tonight. I don't know why I'm looking forward to tonight. I think it's just that I feel like I've been so busy recently it'll be nice to just have an evening in to relax. It's a shame there's no CSI on though, I'm in the mood for a bit of mystery-solving...

4:55 p.m. - 2006-03-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

venezia

panama

random entry

other diaries:

joethebrave
annanotbob
annanotbob2
strawberrri
stepfordtart
smashthegas
theswordsman
lil-devil665
johnguinness
liljeffy
boo40
buffylass
onlyemma
lilkate