Bienvenidos!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I challenge me?

I keep reading about John's Challenges and recently it's got me thinking about maybe trying to do something like that myself. There are two things I want/would like to do, one of which is completely feasible and should start tonight, and the other, I'm not so sure. I've already done one thing I wanted to do, which was practise a couple of fencing moves and get them where I want them - I hardly ever delay my ripostes now and the improvement was evident this last weekend. My epee point control has also tightened up and my wrist/forearm hits are coming along nicely. After going for about three months without reading anything for pleasure, I finally got around to opening the Louis de Bernieres book I was given for Christmas, and finished that the other week. Absolutely fantastic. I've cooked a few new dishes with Mario, and managed to make it to a ballet at the Empire. So now, the other things. My sports centre membership has been upgraded from standard to premium whilst the pool is being refurbished, which means I get to use the fitness suite without having to pay extra or sneak in on someone else's card. I haven't taken advantage of this yet because of fencing practice times and the Glasgow Open, but as fencing isn't on this week, Mario and I made the resolution to go and register tonight. So, when he gets off work, we will run home and grab a snack then head over to the gym. I'm a little nervous, but if I don't do it now I probably won't get around to it while the offer is still on.

The other thing I was thinking about was taking part in the Cancer Research Race for Life thing. Tanya mentioned it a few weeks ago as something that maybe the women's squad could do together, and I think it's a really good idea. The only problem is that the one she wanted to do is the day I fly to Panama, and the other alternative is the day before my end-of-year written exams. All the other ones around Liverpool are now closed to entries. I don't think it would take too long to run the 5km, so I could take the rest of the afternoon to either do some last-minute revision or just relax before the tests, but I know I'm not the best student when it comes to timetabling before exams. I don't want to put off making a decision because the Wirral one will probably close to entries too if I do. I don't know. I could always take the easy way out and leave it until next year, but then it will be before my finals and I know I'll be worrying about revision again. If I get my act together and start my revision with enough time (ie, not the week before my exam) I should be able to do it. But saying that and actually doing it are two different things. I'll talk to Tanya and see if she's still interested.

Mario told me today that he should be getting the computer that work has been hinting about for the past few months. That will be quite kewl - when it rolls around to SSM writing again I won't have to sit on the floor and get backache from leaning over my ancient 'laptop'. Plus we won't have to come over to the library to use the internet, nor worry about opening times. It just means he'll have to clear off his desk and stop piling up crap on there.

3:42 p.m. - 2006-04-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

venezia

panama

random entry

other diaries:

joethebrave
annanotbob
annanotbob2
strawberrri
stepfordtart
smashthegas
theswordsman
lil-devil665
johnguinness
liljeffy
boo40
buffylass
onlyemma
lilkate