Bienvenidos!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Take the plunge...

Well, I did it - took a deep breath and signed up for the gym. I've been twice so far and once you actually get in there it's not as scary as I thought. The first time I went with Mario and Kev met us to show us how the machines worked, and today it was just Mario and me. It's nice to go with someone; I don't think I'd want to go as much if I were going on my own. Today we spent about an hour there - we did 1500m on the rowing machines, 25 floors on the steppers, 10 minutes on the cross trainers and a 15 minute jog/cool down on the treadmill. Afterwards I went off to fencing but M had to go to work. It was quite a good session - I went 13-15 against Kev, and 11-20 against Rooban. It was 9-15, but then I was just being lazy. Managed to parry one attack with my finger somehow and took some skin off my knuckle - even through the glove. We went off to the Symphony afterwards to get food. It wasn't that bad value - I always thought the food was more expensive than it turned out.

This week has been pretty relaxed, uni-wise. I had my UCCT and my GP attachment but that was it. I need to start working on my SSM essay soon though, as there is a deceptively short space of time left. We're only timetabled one day per week for this, and it has to be handed in on the 26th May. I'm intending to start the journal search after the mock exam next week, carry that on over Easter and then start writing it up when we get back. I also need to get around to sorting my travel insurance and travel jabs, which I keep forgetting to do. I was thinking of ringing up Torkard Hill and seeing if they still do them for the same price. If they do, I'll just get them there instead of waiting til I get back. Travel insurance will have to wait until I get my loan, especially since I paid off the house deposit on Thursday. The landlord came in for a few minutes whilst we all sorted out the random bits of paper (Kev and Tanya had come over to my place for dinner) and seemed quite surprised with how tatty the house was. I really can't wait to be out of there. It's only two and a half months now. Dinner went really well - Mario did his coconut and gungo pea rice with patecones (smushed fried plantains) and breaded turkey escalopes drenched in lime juice. There was way too much food, so I still have a tub of rice and a leftover escalope in the fridge. I don't know if they'll get eaten now though. Bit of a shame, really. We're cooking chilli tonight. I love Mario's chilli. I know he cheats and uses packet seasoning, but it really does taste good. I was thinking about ordering Tipping the Velvet from Amazon.. I re-read a bit of the book the other day and it reminded me how much I liked the TV adaptation. It's only �3.40 plus postage, so I may splurge. I don't know what Mario would think of it though.

Anyway. The sirens at the library are telling me that it is 20 minutes til closing time, so I will wrap up here. Laters all xxx

4:26 p.m. - 2006-04-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

venezia

panama

random entry

other diaries:

joethebrave
annanotbob
annanotbob2
strawberrri
stepfordtart
smashthegas
theswordsman
lil-devil665
johnguinness
liljeffy
boo40
buffylass
onlyemma
lilkate