Bienvenidos!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I hate being poor.

I'm currently wasting time on the computer til Mario turns up and I can nab his keys and go get some lunch. Noticed today that the spring mechanism on my glasses case is no longer springing, so I may have to replace that before my glasses fall out and get all scratched and bent.

I've had this vague worrying type feeling floating around the past couple of days, which I think is due to a combination of nerves about the upcoming match and money worries. The match nerves will continue to bother me until I get on the piste tomorrow, then will come back if we're either winning, close or trailing, so I can't win really. They'll only really disappear if we go into the final bout with something like a 20-point lead, and most definitely when the whole thing is over, so I only have another 28 hours until I feel better about that. The money issues are a whole different kettle of fish. I know I'm not completely skint. I've been budgeting and it's been working, but I'd forgotten that I still have to pay for my travel vaccination (preferably before April), my AU dinner ticket (also within the next week), my train ticket home this weekend, and any costs that Glasgow incurs next weekend. Then it's a couple more weeks til I go home for Easter and don't have to worry about food and travel budgeting, plus there'll be another loan payment sometime around then, but as I've misplaced my schedule of payments, I'm not entirely sure when that goes through. I also need to pay for travel insurance fairly soon, but I can put that off until next term. So, unless I go into my NSI acount money I'm going to have to be really stingy these next couple of weeks. I don't want to use my NSI money because that's for me; I already spent my birthday money on necessities and I hated having to do that. I keep telling myself that when I have money in my account again, �80 of that is for me to buy myself something that I want, not that I need. I'll probably end up getting some clothes for Panama and maybe a book or two.

I've just remembered I need to pick up kit for tomorrow this afternoon. Will do that after lunch, methinks. I also need to check out my foil and re-tape the barrels as they're both getting a bit scruffy.

I was thinking of writing a letter to our student paper about the amount of mistakes that keep appearing in every issue. The one that really incensed me was this supposed fan of Captain Corelli' Mandolin (the book) not even being able to spell Cephalonia and Pelagia right. How hard is it to just pick up the book and check?! Plus other things like using 'peddle' for 'pedal' in an article on cycling; councilor and counselor used interchangeably when talking about the university counselling service - note also the American spelling; 'phase' instead of 'faze,' as in 'needles don't faze me... I could go on. On top of this is the writers' blatant disregard for any grammar rule, with commas abused left, right and centre, apostrophes in all the wrong places... It makes me ashamed to be associated with it, to be honest.

Right, rants over. I'm off to get food and find the email address to which I shall send my complaints...

update, 3:10pm
News just in - THE GUYS ARE THROUGH TO THE PREMIERSHIP!!!! Fantastic!!! Go on the boyos!!

12:50 p.m. - 2006-03-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

venezia

panama

random entry

other diaries:

joethebrave
annanotbob
annanotbob2
strawberrri
stepfordtart
smashthegas
theswordsman
lil-devil665
johnguinness
liljeffy
boo40
buffylass
onlyemma
lilkate