Bienvenidos!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Henry's Harlot Globetrotters take the bronze

I have Queen in my head. Mario was singing it this morning and it's just stuck.

I was very lazy today. I didn't sleep too well last night so this morning I slept in til about half past nine, when a message that had been trying to get through to my phone all night finally made it and woke me up. Even then, I didn't have breakfast until about an hour later, and I still feel dozy. It was the club team competition this weekend. Originally the ladies weren't supposed to be there as we should have had the rearranged Christie Cup match on Saturday, but Leeds cancelled so we went to the team comp instead. At the sports centre for 8:15am... Everyone looked a bit dazed and puffy-eyed though so it was ok. I think our first opponents were Mario's team, who we beat after a bit of strife in the foil. I took Mario to 5-7 on epee, which is the best I've done against him in about a year, so I was very pleased with myself for that. His team then went into the plate, and we went to the next round against Chris's team. We lost that in the end, but it was a fairly decent match. Most people went to the Font afterwards for a drink and something to eat; Mario ordered a large plate of curly fries, which we couldn't finish (especially since he also snaffled half a free burrito that mistakenly found itself on our table...).

On the sunday it was a slightly later start, but we were a bit late anyway. My team was facing Rooban's for third place, and Mario spent the day presiding and armouring as his team had ben knocked out of the plate comp and the rest of them never showed up. We started with epee, and in my second match, against a very fast and enthusiastic foilist, I managed to get jabbed on the shin bone right between my breeches and my sock. I hopped about for a bit, managed to finish the bout (which I won) then someone went and fetched an ice pack for me. Turns out I had a nice little semi-circular cut with an epee-tip-shaped-bruise developing around it. Fortunately I had a three bout break to recuperate, and after the epee was the sabre so I had time to sit out and make sure everything was ok. We only lost the epee by three points after I brought back six in the final bout. We won sabre by quite a big margin, meaning that if we got the 33 points in foil we'd won. I was last man for foil - not something I was too happy with, especially since my last bout would be against Roobs, but that's what Henry wanted. I did quite well against Pete and Ben, maintaining the gap, Henry brought us to the 33rd point, so I felt a bit better going into my last bout. I only got two points but it didn't matter as we already knew we had won. Kev's team won the competition, with Chris's team coming second, ourselves third, Rooban fourth, and Mike's team winning the plate. I think Adam's team were 6th, Mario's 7th and Sarah's bringing up the rear. It was a really good weekend and fantastic to see so many of the club there at one go. Hopefully we'll have the same or better turnout for the end-of-year tournament too.

Think I'm going to take it easy fencing-wise this week, just to recover a bit before the finals on Saturday.

Anyway, have to be off to do a presentation for Friday. Sorry for the abruptness of the ending, I can't really think of a decent way to sign off today. Laters all xxx

1:14 p.m. - 2006-03-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

venezia

panama

random entry

other diaries:

joethebrave
annanotbob
annanotbob2
strawberrri
stepfordtart
smashthegas
theswordsman
lil-devil665
johnguinness
liljeffy
boo40
buffylass
onlyemma
lilkate