Bienvenidos!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Crash

Ok. Handover day today. I do not feel any more confident than I did yesterday. If anything, I feel less so, as tomorrow I will have no outgoing HO to help me figure out what to do.

I nearly didn't get there at all, which was a brilliant start to the day. I was feeling ok this morning, left on time, went down to the station, got on the train, put my earphones in and waited for the train to depart. Only, it didn't. Some idiot had crashed into one of the railway bridges and they needed to 'assess the damage' before letting the trains run again. I nearly cried. Ended up getting a cab as I couldn't get hold of anyone who might have been driving.

Also found out this afternoon that BlondeSecretary (used to be in charge of the undergrad admin and was just as 'organised' then. What have I let myself in for?) gave me the name of the wrong outgoing post-holder with whom to go and meet yesterday, so the other F1 and I have ended up orientating ourselves on the wrong teams. We will find out tomorrow whether we have to swap back or if they can just switch our names on the list. It's a little silly.

And never mind the admin, there's also the work! The patients! Sick people! It was fine when I had someone to hide behind! Time for me to start acting like a proper doc, and sharpish... I had to go and see my first potential emergency today. I don't think I handled it very well. I couldn't get bloods, so I just left it, which wasn't really very nice to the on call doc. But it was 5:30pm and I'd just exhausted a vein getting cultures, which I think were more important. (Will that stand up in court of she pops it tonight? Probably not...). I can just see me doing a JD if I'm holding the crash bleep and going straight to the linen cupboard to hide.

Deep breath. Tomorrow is another day. Same patients, but another day nonetheless...

8:32 p.m. - 2008-08-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

venezia

panama

random entry

other diaries:

joethebrave
annanotbob
annanotbob2
strawberrri
stepfordtart
smashthegas
theswordsman
lil-devil665
johnguinness
liljeffy
boo40
buffylass
onlyemma
lilkate