Bienvenidos!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Little victories

Wow! What a week! I did three on call shifts in the past 5 days so I'm absolutely shattered now. Yesterday I was writing something in a patient's notes then had a bit of a brain fart as I went to look something up in the notes, which naturally, I couldn't find in the trolley as I had just been writing in them. D'oh! I seem to be getting the hang of things though, even if most of my on call action plans were 'fluids, observations, discuss with senior house officer'. The ward work is getting easier too as I get more organised, but it's so so busy. I feel like I have so much to do that taking a 30 minute lunch break is a luxury. I spent a lot of time on the phone today chasing up results and appointments.

House officer-ing is quite far removed from what people perceive as being a doctor. Mainly it involves clerking, organising tests and following things up. You don't get to do the impressive House style stuff until at least Registrar level. Although, if you're doing a surgery post then you can sometimes be involved in assisting at simple operations. That's always very rewarding. Then there are the little victories, like my successful double cannulation of a lady wih teeny weeny veins and obtaining a radial arterial blood gas sample from a guy who was so huge I couldn't even feel his pulse. I got it on the second stab.

Go me!

9:03 p.m. - 2008-08-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

venezia

panama

random entry

other diaries:

joethebrave
annanotbob
annanotbob2
strawberrri
stepfordtart
smashthegas
theswordsman
lil-devil665
johnguinness
liljeffy
boo40
buffylass
onlyemma
lilkate