Bienvenidos!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dark Room

On call tonight. Taking a break at the mo and eating my leftovers. The canteen staff always look at me quizzically when I ask for "just rice please!" I feel I have to explain that I'm not weird, though that really depends on your definition, I actually have a tub of my own stuff upstairs (not that yours isn't lovely, which I'm sure it is, but I don't eat beef you see...). It all gets very long winded.

Someone else called me Penfold today. Apparently it was the way I said 'spectacularly unhelpful', and nothing to do with looking like a small bespectacled cartoon rodent, which I don't.

My former consultant from my last ward missed something big yesterday. If it weren't completely unprofessional and likely to get me both fired and struck off I would go and let him know in no uncertain terms. A frail old lady came in yesterday after a couple of falls and had the usual chest and abdo xrays, which he looked at and wrote 'hyperinflated, faecal loading, nil else.' She had actually burst her bowel and it was blindingly obvious on the films. Within an hour we had the surgeons to see her but she's too weak to make it through any operation. I couldn't believe that he'd missed that one. Mind you, I seem to be getting a reputation as a budding radiologist on my current ward. I keep saying that I don't want to do it as a career but I'm starting to wonder - it's family friendly, few on calls, few emergencies, and I scored the highest out of all the F1s on the radiology quiz today (go me! I won a stethoscope, woo!). I wonder if it's just that I didn't particularly enjoy the SAMP that I keep thinking I don't want to do it. Maybe I should think about it a bit more...

Anyway, I should go and get some work done now. Off home tomorrow, yay!

6:07 p.m. - 2008-12-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

venezia

panama

random entry

other diaries:

joethebrave
annanotbob
annanotbob2
strawberrri
stepfordtart
smashthegas
theswordsman
lil-devil665
johnguinness
liljeffy
boo40
buffylass
onlyemma
lilkate