Bienvenidos!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Problems already

Sounding board time.

1. When?
I thought next April. I wanted to do it at Easter to use the decorations but M doesn't want to gatecrash JC's big day. So then thought just general April time, but is that too soon? My parents were only engaged for about 6 weeks: they had to do it in a hurry as I was on the way, so I can't really ask them. I don't want us to be one of those couples who are engaged for ages - we're engaged to be married, not engaged to be angaged a bit longer. Having said that, is a year enough time to plan everything? And is my work going to be accommodating? When the F2 from my previous rotation got married they only let her have three days off. I'm worried I won't get anything at all since I start A+E around then and they allocate your leave for you. Maybe it would be better in autumn or even the year after, but I really really don't want to wait two years! I don't know how people can stand waiting that long! And autumn isn't so appealing as it doesn't have as much meaning for us. Spring is when we first started dating and that's when I want. Also, Friday/Sunday/Weekday would be less likely to be taken but I know they pose problems with time off work too.

2. Where?
His family live in Panama! We're here in Liverpool and mine are in Notts! Whatever happens, at least two parties are going to have to travel. I would love to have my mum around to help plan stuff but I cannot move back home and she cannot stay here, so out goes that plan. It would be impractical to keep going back to Notts to meet venue/frock/food people, but if we do it all here we're going to have to do it alone. Are they all going to get a coach over? Where is everyone going to stay? How much is that going to cost? Would it be better to do the whole back and forthing to Notts so everyone can stay there? And what about the Panama side of things? Do we have another one over there? Or should we just elope and face the wrath of the families for leaving them all out? Meeting on neutral ground was an option but where? If it's anywhere overseas my grandparents probably wouldn't be able to go, and again, cost...

3. How?
It has to be a catholic ceremony. That much at least is agreed. But I don't know what else we're supposed to do. I don't want a traditional bustier/big skirt frock because I don't have the boobage to look good in a bustier and it's what every bride seems to wear! I saw a really pretty blue gown in Flannels recently that I love, but don't know if it's appropriate, depending on how traditional the eventual priest will be. And also, it might not look good on me, so no counting chickens. And reception - I'd love a latin bash, but how will we pull it off? I have no idea if the catering companies round here will even have heard of ceviche, sopa borracha or tres leches... And my best buddies aren't around either, so no-one to go on recon with.

4. How much?
How much are these things supposed to cost? What is a sensible budget? I've been on the MSE forum and people have been doing it for less than �5000 but how do you even start to budget when you have no idea what things are likely to cost? Do you just kind of make it up as you go along?

And this is just 5 days in to being engaged!

AAARGH!!!

10:42 p.m. - 2009-04-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

venezia

panama

random entry

other diaries:

joethebrave
annanotbob
annanotbob2
strawberrri
stepfordtart
smashthegas
theswordsman
lil-devil665
johnguinness
liljeffy
boo40
buffylass
onlyemma
lilkate