Bienvenidos!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Seventeen

I've been having really weird, vivid dreams lately. Last night, amongst other things, I went to visit johnguinness in the states, except he wasn't home, and I was in his apartment which was actually the downstairs of someone's house, and his bedroom was a greenhouse with most of the glass papered over, then I went upstairs and there was an amazing view from the hall window. There was also a german witch in there somewhere, my grandmother officiating a swimming event where people had to swim pulling two pillows the length of the pool, a house viewing with an all-pink downstairs, failing to play Fur Elise on the piano, and being hunted down by my consultant supervisor who was an evil wizard. Hmm.

The Everyman theatre closed yesterday. I'm annoyed with myself because I never got around to seeing anything there and they have had some major productions and shakespearean actors gracing their stage. I missed Sir Ian McKellen, Pete Postlethwaite, David Morrisey and Kim Cattrall, to name just the few I remember. I always wanted to go and never booked tickets and thought 'oh, I'll make it next time' and now it's closing for 18 months and I never got to see it as it was the whole time I've lived in this city. That will teach me. I did get to go in for their closing down event and wander round the stalls and stage, where they had a load of candles in jars and messages people had written suspended on strings from the light riggings. It was kind of cool. Then we went and queued for 45 minutes to have our last meal at the Bistro, which is also going. I'm more upset about this. The bistro was one of my favourite places to eat - this underground, communal cafeteria-like kitchen which was such good value and such good food. I don't know who's going to take over when the theatre re-opens but it won't be the people who run it now. They're moving on. The change might not be for the worse but still, if it ain't broke... It was more full than I've ever seen it down there, and we had a bit of a scramble to get a table when we got our food. (chicken/chorizo casserole with rice, chicken and ham pie, potato and butter bean salad followed by bread and butter pudding and peanut butter baked cheesecake. Diet coke, pint of ale, shot of rum and pot of tea. Less than �30 all-in) There were people hovering round us waiting to for us vacate when I was slowly sipping my tea... I think there were some street performances later that night but having just finished a run of nights yesterday morning I was tired and it would have been another hour to wait for it to start, so we went home where I fell asleep on the sofa before being prodded and told to go to bed.

Still not showing much, belly-wise. One of the nurses this week told me I looked like I'd just had a good roast dinner (!). Still fitting into most of my own trousers but they are getting a bit tight. Need to sit down and do some serious financial planning soon, to work out how much we need to save to cover the essentials when my pay goes down. I'm a bit worried about that since I do pay most of the household expenses at the moment. I don't know if SuperMoo will be earning enough to take over. I'd like to lay down some good savings as a back-up, but it's balancing that with the immediate expense of moving and needing to pay out the deposit and for bits of furniture we're missing. We'll have to see.

4:56 p.m. - 2011-07-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

venezia

panama

random entry

other diaries:

joethebrave
annanotbob
annanotbob2
strawberrri
stepfordtart
smashthegas
theswordsman
lil-devil665
johnguinness
liljeffy
boo40
buffylass
onlyemma
lilkate