Bienvenidos!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

BUSAs 2006

It's so cold in our new computer room that this is going to have to be a short entry or I fear I may actually freeze. I say computer room; I actually mean the spare room at the back of the house that is always cold because no one ever goes in it, but was the only place our enormous desktop would fit.

Spent the weekend with a house full of fencers for the BUSA individuals. Mario wasn't fencing this year so hung around taking pictures and recording people's bouts. I came 18th of 64 in epee, and 25th of 64 in foil - exactly the same place as the last two years. I am consoling myself though because there were more entrants this time around, so I technically did better. Yay! It was Mario's birthday yesterday so I took him out for a lovely thai meal on Saturday, and he opened his little stack of gifts yesterday morning. Also got him a giant cookie, of which there is half still to be eaten...

I'm thinking of suspending the coaching course until next year. Asides from my thinking the guy who is teaching us is an ass, I could really do with a bit more time to study, especially as my finals are coming up in June. I know I'm going to be busy next year as well, but at least then some of the pressure will be off, revision-wise.

The landlord came to take the cooker away on friday to be fixed, after several culinary cock-ups including a carrot cake that took two hours to caramelise and never actually cooked in the middle, and a chicken that after two and a half hours was still raw and bloody (we ended up frying it). I got a phone call that evening saying it was past repair and that he was giving us a new one. Had a look at it today, and it looks pretty decent. Now I just need something to cook in it... I was thinking about making mince pies and roasting some chestnuts before we go away from christmas. We have a bit of time though, as Mario and I are going to Nottingham on the 22nd, and Kev and Tanya will probably be around until then as well, so we could even try doing a christmas dinner, if we felt brave enough...

Anyway, going to wrap this up before my hands freeze up completely. Adios, amigos xxx

1:58 p.m. - 2006-12-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

venezia

panama

random entry

other diaries:

joethebrave
annanotbob
annanotbob2
strawberrri
stepfordtart
smashthegas
theswordsman
lil-devil665
johnguinness
liljeffy
boo40
buffylass
onlyemma
lilkate