Bienvenidos!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Juuust relax...

Antenatal clinics are so damn boring... They come in, they have their BP taken, their wee tested, their belly felt and they go home. Seriously, what is the point? Apart from keeping midwives and obstetricians paid, that is... Gynae outpatients was much more fun. I got to play with speculums! Or should that be speculae? I was a little concerned hen the lady flinched though. I know they're not pleasant... They feel damn weird, but with any luck I won't be needing their services for a while yet.

Mario's currently looking at the french fencing website, looking for their forum or something... He's promoting the website in as many countries as he can. So far we've had hits from Mexico, Panama, Canada, China, Holland, India, Greece, France, and more I think. All good stuff. I was in with a french doctor today. Very polite chap. We had this one older patient who came in with her daughter, and as soon as she stepped through the door I knew she was going to be trouble. It seemed like the mother was just going along with everything her daughter said - I wished the daughter would just leave so her mother could make her own choices. She seemed to be out to prove that all the doctors were incompetent quacks; it really really annoyed me. Guess I've got all that to come...

Other stuff... I'm worried that I'm not going to pick up anough spanish for my elective, and that I'm going to faff around trying to get contact details and leave it all too late and not be able to go... I'm worried that if I do go Mario's family won't like me, that his sister will be intimidating and his brother remind me too much of Joe. I'm afraid of making a fool of myself. And the money is an issue as well. The cheapest flight I've found so far is about �670. I know there are bursaries available but I don't think I'm doing anything worth granting a bursary for. And I'm going to have even shorter a summer than usual in which I can work to earn back the money. Unless I get another job, that is, but I don't think anyone will take me for just four or five weeks. I'm also a little worried about this critical thinking module, and about next year's placements. I don't know what to propose for my CTM that I will be able to follow up through the rest of the project, and the deadline is this Friday. And regarding next year, I don't want to be placed in some far-flung place where I'll have to get a train if I want to see Mario, never mind going home... I don't really want to go back to the Royal because I absolutely hated that place, Aintree could be ok but requires a bus pass, and I can't go back to Alder Hey. I don't want to go to Lancaster, Southport or Morecambe Bay. Halton sounds ok but again I need transport, however it does give me the Alder Hey rotation. It just seemed a bit small and sad. I don't know why it felt like a sad place, but it did. I need to decide before the 7th of December.

But anyway. Back to now. I need to get this CTM thing sorted, so I'm going to try and get cracking on that now. Fingers crossed.

Laters all xxx

6:25 p.m. - 2005-11-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

venezia

panama

random entry

other diaries:

joethebrave
annanotbob
annanotbob2
strawberrri
stepfordtart
smashthegas
theswordsman
lil-devil665
johnguinness
liljeffy
boo40
buffylass
onlyemma
lilkate