Bienvenidos!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mini-update

I'm not loving the way I feel right now. I think it's my Nifedipine and the fact that I didn't sleep too well last night - I was too hot and kept waking up. Then I dozed off when I was supposed to be doing some of the reading for this SSM. I managed to cut my thumb slicing my bagel yesterday morning. My own fault, really.

The freshers return next week, and I think the pool re-opens then as well. I'm hoping I'll have the motivation and time to get over there once or twice a week to improve my stamina now that the fencing season is starting up again. I've already missed two of the big opens, and it looks like I'll be missing a couple more, as the closing date for Shropshire is tomorrow and Ashton is Saturday. Plus I don't know if I can afford it yet. If I decide to do Ashton I think I'll just do epee, as it's �22 for two weapons. I was doing slightly better than last week at practice yesterday. After getting smacked around the first few hits by Andrea I figured out what I was doing wrong (letting him do the advancing) and how to counter it (attack more and use his timing against him) so that made me feel better. Then I fenced Mario at epee and was doing miles better against him than I normally do. Our matches seem to be very formulaic, but somehow he always wins, so I was more patient this time, and some of the parries and counter-attacks that I have been trying to do for weeks are finally starting to work. I don't know if this will be the case next time we fence, but it was nice to feel that I might be getting over my hang-up about fencing him.

Grr, I really should have done this literature search at the beginning of the SSM... At least doing it now means I know exactly what I'm looking for, and I don't need that many, just some recent papers and a few research reports to back up what I say... Should probably get on with that actually.

Until next time, folks!

Adios xxx

3:05 p.m. - 2005-09-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

venezia

panama

random entry

other diaries:

joethebrave
annanotbob
annanotbob2
strawberrri
stepfordtart
smashthegas
theswordsman
lil-devil665
johnguinness
liljeffy
boo40
buffylass
onlyemma
lilkate