Bienvenidos!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

When the moon hits your eye like a big pizza pie, that's amore...

Thought I would bring you breaking news as it happens today - there is a camera crew in the library where I am sat pretending to do work but really talking to Steve, checking emails and writing this entry! (I was going to write it anyway but this is all exciting!) Well, not really. They brought a group of students in and told them to spread out amongst the computers (all uber-styled, super-trendy pseudo-typical students, of course, not the no makeup, scruffy jeans look that most real students favour.) Ah well.

Anyway. What I was really going to write about. I have the pictures back from Venice, only I'm running out of space in my photo album, so unless I delete some or get a gold membership (which I can't really be bothered to do just now) I'm not going to be able to put them anywhere :( If you want to see the pics, just drop me a line somewhere and I'll email them. Venice itself was so lovely. We realised when we landed in Treviso (where it was soooo warm compared to the UK) that we hadn't actually brought the details of where the hotel was, so we fluttered about for about an hour trying to find a phone book or someone who could help. We eventually got the number, and the directions to the hotel, so we caught the bus

Filming update: pseudo students have just been shipped off somewhere else. Wow, the exciting life od a film star!

and set off to find the Hotel Sole. After rather more walking than was actually necessary we found the hotel, which was really nice, set back from the road, in a smallish village just outside of Treviso itself. We decided not to go into Venice that day, but just to have a look around where we were and decide on the plan for the next couple of days, so after we'd settled in we went for a wander around the surrounding area. The gardens were incredible! The amount of stuff we saw growing was fantastic - figs and kiwis and citrus fruits and watermelons and enormous tomatoes and courgettes and aubergines and bell peppers easily four, five times the size you see in the UK - I could easily live in Italy just for the gardens. The architecture was so different as well, I really loved the high, square buildings with the red tiled rooves and shuttered windows. We walked to where it looked like the village was ending, and found a little cafe where we decided to have dinner. I didn't understand most of the menu, but Mario knew a bit more than I did so we ended up ordering a veggie pizza for myself and a pepperoni one for him. I can't remember what they call pepperoni over there. Pepperoni in Italian refers to small bell peppers (I think). The pizzas were huge! At least 14", and only cost �6 - I couldn't finish mine. We also had a half litre of wine (�3.10) between us, and shared a dessert. I think the whole meal only came to about �24, which was a pretty neat deal! Although, the do charge you a cover charge, which I didn't know about before. Mario spent most of dessert pulling faces at this little italian girl who was brought in by her parents. I'm not sure she was that impressed...

The next day after breakfast we headed out to the bus stop to take the 40 minute ride into Venice. It had been raining during the night so was a lot cooler than the previous day. The bus got pretty full, but we had seats at the back so it wasn't too bad. When we got to Venice the skies were already starting to clear so I covered myself in sunscreen and we set off through the Piazza le Roma into the heart of beautiful Venezia.

I was really surprised about the number of mask stalls there were scattered around the place. The first few I kept thinking how nice they were but the more we saw them, they just looked over-embellished, and they were so expensive as well. I did kind of want a small one but didn't see any that jumped out at me. We decided to just wander the first day, and got a little lost in the process, but decided to follow the signs to the Ponte Rialto. It was bustling when we got there, so many people and stall holders and gondola drivers... I considered buying a pair of leather gloves (purple!) but decided to save my money til the next day and see if I still wanted them then. I know it would have been cheaper than buying them over here but �25 out of a day's budget of only �40 was a bit much. Meep.

2:47 p.m. - 2005-09-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

venezia

panama

random entry

other diaries:

joethebrave
annanotbob
annanotbob2
strawberrri
stepfordtart
smashthegas
theswordsman
lil-devil665
johnguinness
liljeffy
boo40
buffylass
onlyemma
lilkate