Bienvenidos!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

You spin me right round, baby, right round...

I'm really hungry right now. Also feeling kind of light-headed, which I think is a result of both the hunger and this new medication I'm trying to fix my Reynauds syndrome. I should probably backtrack because I don't know if I've ever mentioned that on here. For years I've had this thing where when my hands get cold, or they go from one ambient temperature to another really quickly, they start to itch and burn and swell up and go funny colours. After a bit of investigation, I decided it looked like Reynaud's phenomenon, but all I've been doing to help it is to wear gloves (one of which I lost, grrr) but I can't really do that inside. My hands have been flaring up a lot at work because I sit right under the air conditioner, and yesterday one of the doctors noticed me sat with my hands under my armpits trying to keep them warm, so I showed her what they were doing, and she suggested I went to see her that afternoon as she could prescribe something to help. So I went, and we talked, and I am now trying out a one month course of nifedipine. For those of you who want a brief summary, nifedipine is a calcium channel blocker which works on the small blood vessels and prevents the muscle in their walls from contracting. This is good for me because it means my arteries won't spasm when it's cold, but it also has the effect of lowering the blood pressure (less vascular resistance) and seeing as mine is already fairly low at 100/60, I just need to make sure it's not dropping too much. So if I start collapsing all over the place, I'll know to drop the dosage a bit.

I'm supposed to be going to Emma's tonight, provided mum is ok with taking me when she gets home. I feel a bit cheeky wanting a lift when she's driven all the way back from Glasgow with my grandparents, but dad still doesn't know how to get there. Feeling kind of mopey today too. Partly because of what I read in Meg's diary, partly because this week is taking forever to go by, partly because of money worries, and the rest I'm not sure. I got a letter from Mario yesterday, which was so lovely, and it smelled of his aftershave, and it was all in his loopy handwriting, and he gave me a spanish bit to translate, and it made me feel all gooey inside. It's stuck on my wall now, along with the envelope, and all the other pictures and stuff of his that are stickable. I may go and write one back later, even though he won't get it til monday.

Hum.

I'm going to go get some food now, so I can take another of these nifedipine. Hopefully it won't make me as woozy as the first one did.

Hasta luego xxx

PS: someone sign my guestbook! I'm feeling unloved!

5:09 p.m. - 2005-08-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

venezia

panama

random entry

other diaries:

joethebrave
annanotbob
annanotbob2
strawberrri
stepfordtart
smashthegas
theswordsman
lil-devil665
johnguinness
liljeffy
boo40
buffylass
onlyemma
lilkate