Bienvenidos!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Rematch and stuff

Had mixed feelings about fencing yesterday. Mike set me the challenge of winning the pool, and I wish he hadn't said that because I knew I was going to get tense and make stupid mistakes and sure enough... Susan took me to belle touche, which I won, but she made it harder for me than it should have been. I beat Philip no problem. He's relatively new and tends to fall for feints. I lost to Gavin the first time around, but I was fencing quite well. He's developed a new habit of flicking but I can get round that by stepping into his distance and hitting him from close range. And keeping my arm out when he brings it back for a flick. Then I lost to Pete. That annoyed me. He over-reaches and has all these big blade movements and I think it was the first time I've fenced him so I didn't really know what to do against him. I was 4-1 down before I figured out I could circular parry-riposte him pretty easily, so I brought back two hits then I mal-parried and he won. After we finished the pool Gav wanted a rematch with someone, so I wired up again and it was quite cool - we went to belle touch and I won! I was so pleased with my comeback but it was bloody hard work. I think I need to do more cardio work, and for that I need to make time somehow... I keep wondering whether I should try the gym out but it's kind of scary, all full of skinny, non-sweaty people who know what they're doing... The pool is all well and good but it offers no impact, and trying to fit aerobic classes into my lecture timetable is a nightmare. So I don't know.

In other news.. I can't remember if I said that last week's presentation went well, but it did, and I quite enjoyed it. Acid-base balance and hypoglycaemia. I love it when something you've been struggling with finally clicks. I finished my peer reviews last night so will go hand them in when I'm finished here, along with my elective application. Then I think I'll get some psychiatry and neurology books out and head back home. My new budgeting strategy is working out ok so far, but I have a bad feeling that it'll all fall to pieces when the Glasgow open rolls around. It'll be worth it though; the Glasgow was so much fun last year. I think that was partly to do with all the flirting and tension between Mario and I, but it was a brilliant tournament too. The Keele invitational is on this weekend, but I can't really afford to do that at the moment, and the Nottingham is next week. I'm doing that as it gives me a chance to go home and see everyone. I think we'll have a big turnout again for this one, probably not as big as the Merseyside though.

I saw Steve the other day for the first time in months. He's off uni at the moment and was doing an open mic night at one of the bars in town, so I went to watch. Some of his other friends were there too, and at about half nine all the AU clubs started turning up in various weird costumes. Steve did his bit very well then I headed off back to Mario's as I had to be in uni the next morning. We're going to go for lunch at some point over the next couple of weeks, which will be nice.

I should probably go and get my stuff handed in before it gets too late. I have a fantastic afternoon of tidying up and work when I get home, yay...

11:55 a.m. - 2006-02-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

venezia

panama

random entry

other diaries:

joethebrave
annanotbob
annanotbob2
strawberrri
stepfordtart
smashthegas
theswordsman
lil-devil665
johnguinness
liljeffy
boo40
buffylass
onlyemma
lilkate