Bienvenidos!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tis the season to be jolly and joyful, fa la la!

Firstly I'd like to say I hope everyone had a fantabulous Christmas and aren't getting too sick of leftover turkey just yet.

Christmas for me ran the way it usually does each year, but this time had the added bonus of Mario being here. He arrived on the 23rd and came to the pantomime with us (oh, yes he did!), came along on the present run, made me feel slightly less materialistic by taking me along to Christmas mass, helped peel potatoes for dinner, danced with me to mushy songs, and generally gave my Christmas a little extra sparkle. He left on the train this afternoon and I'm trying not to be too mopey.

I think mum is taking me to the sales tomorrow, although I'm not really sure what we're meant to be getting. Shopping makes me feel awkward at the best of times; even more so when there are crowds of people swarming like vultures round a carcass. I was given pretty much what I wanted this year - to name but a few: Farscape DVDs to complete my collection; a really huge stockpot (for cooking humungous amounts of chilli); new socks, knickers; some lush perfume and a silver dragonfly pendant from Mario; Ludovico Einaudi CDs; pyjamas and a Harry Potter game from Em and Kate; a lovely necklace; random cool things and a really fantastic fencing book from Meg. It gets harder to think of things I'd like for Christmas as I'm pretty happy with what I have. New housemates and a dry house would be nice, but I think that's a bit out of most people's price range.

After reading theswordsman's diary I started to think about what I'd like to achieve in 2006. My list is a bit small at the moment but I'll keep thinking about it over the next few days and with luck it will grow.

My aims for 2006:

- spend 40 minutes doing lengths in the pool at least twice a week

- find one attacking and one defensive manoeuvre (woo, had to dictionary.com that one!) to perfect at fencing this term

- make proper notes on every module and actually learn them

- make a workable revision schedule that starts at least two weeks before my first exam

- study Spanish at least two evenings a week so that I understand ward rounds before my elective in June

- find a decent student house to move into with Mario, Kev and Tanya - no damp, approachable landlord, accessible location, affordable rent

- sort out the situation with my current house as soon as term starts on January 3rd

- learn to cook three new dishes this term

- see three shows at the Empire before Easter

I think that's enough for now. I'll probably edit the list over the next few days, but there is my first draft.

I'll hopefully have time to update again before new year, but if not, have a good one, and all the best for 2006!

xxx

9:42 p.m. - 2005-12-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

venezia

panama

random entry

other diaries:

joethebrave
annanotbob
annanotbob2
strawberrri
stepfordtart
smashthegas
theswordsman
lil-devil665
johnguinness
liljeffy
boo40
buffylass
onlyemma
lilkate